You are currently viewing How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently (2021)

How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently (2021)

Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms in the world today, with over a billion members. It’s the eighth-largest online community, trailing only Facebook and Facebook-owned Messenger and WhatsApp.

When specialised messaging apps are removed from the list, Instagram is the world’s third-largest social network and the second-largest in North America. It’s a critical platform for both individuals and businesses.

Of course, there may come a point when you will wish to disengage from your social media networks permanently. People are deleting their social media accounts in greater numbers than ever before in order to live a life free of online culture.

Whether you’re deleting your social media accounts to preserve your future career prospects or simply attempting to reach for your phone less,Permanently deleting your Instagram account may appear to be a big move, but it’s simple to do if you’re ready to break free of your account and gain some free time back in your life. Let’s look at how to permanently erase your Instagram account.

How to Back Up Your Account Information

You should keep a permanent record of your posts, comments, and personal information before cancelling your account. Instagram will destroy your account and everything associated with it if you remove it.All of your photographs, likes, and comments will be permanently deleted as a result.

Follow these steps to save your account information

  1. In the lower right corner of Instagram, tap the profile symbol.
  2. In the upper right corner, tap the three vertical lines, then Settings at the bottom.
  3. From the Settings menu, go to Security.
  4. then select Download Data from the drop-down menu.
  5. Request Download by entering your email address.

Instagram will email a complete copy of your profile to the email address you supplied within 48 hours, including all of your photographs, comments, profile information, and anything else you might need in the future.

Even if you don’t believe you’ll ever need this information again, it’s a necessary step in ensuring that your data is secure if you do. If you don’t do this, you’ll lose all of your data—and no matter how hard you try, you’ll never get it back.

How Do I Delete My Instagram Account Permanently?

After you’ve saved your information, you can delete your account. Users can choose between two choices on Instagram. The first choice is to erase your account and everything related with it permanently, while the second is only a temporary solution.

Permanently deleting your Instagram account requires simply a browser, which may be either a mobile or a desktop browser.

Here’s how to deactivate your Instagram account for good

  1. On your browser, go to the special Delete Your Account page (make sure you’re logged in).
  2. From the drop-down option, choose a main reason for deletion.
  3. Simply click the Delete button.

Make Your Instagram Account Inactive

Don’t be hasty if you’re just searching for a vacation from Instagram. Instead of cancelling your account, consider deactivating it. By disabling, you will be logged out and your profile will be hidden.

You could as well have erased the account in the eyes of your followers. But, as far as you’re concerned, you can easily log back in at any moment.

To deactivate your account, follow these steps:

  1. From your browser, go to Instagram.com (you cannot do this from the app).
  2. If you’re prompted, log in.
  3. In the top right-hand corner, click or press the profile symbol.
  4. Select Edit Profile from the drop-down menu after clicking or tapping Profile.
  5. To the right of the Submit button, scroll down and tap Temporarily deactivate my account.
  6. You’ll be questioned on why you’re doing this. From the drop-down menu, choose an option.
  7. Re-enter your password for your account.
  8. “Temporarily Disable Account” just a button or a tap away.
    According to Instagram’s restrictions, you can only disable your Instagram account once each week.

How Long Until Your Instagram Account Is Deleted?

Your Instagram account will be erased instantly if you follow the steps given above to remove it. This differs from Facebook, which bans your account for two weeks before putting it on hold for up to 90 days before deleting it (104 days total).When it comes to deleting Instagram, you don’t have the same cushion, so be certain of your decision.

The answer is a little less certain if you’re asking how long it takes Instagram to deactivate dormant accounts or accounts that have been reported for spam/botting.

Instagram deletes entirely inactive accounts and accounts that are identified as bots on a regular basis. Except for Instagram, no one knows how frequently this happens or what the criteria are for deletion.

Having Issues Logging In

If you’ve been hacked and wish to secure your personal information, the aforementioned measures may be more difficult than they appear. Unfortunately, without initially checking in, there is no way to deactivate or disable an account. You also can’t rely on Instagram to do it for you. If you can’t remember or locate your password, or if someone else has changed it,

To get it back, follow these instructions.

  1. To begin, open the app.
  2. Tap Under the Login button, you may get assistance with login in.
  3. Choose one of the following options if you have an Android device: ‘Use username, email, or phone,’ or ‘Log in with Facebook.’
  4. Choose one of the following apps if you’re using iOS: Username or telephone number
  5. After you’ve made your choice, follow the directions.
  6. If you believe you have been hacked, you may be unable to employ one or more of these options, depending on how thorough the thief was in modifying your recovery information.
  7. To begin, open the app.
  8. Tap Under the login boxes, you may get assistance with logging in.
  9. Choose the option where you may input your login.
  10. Tap Do you require further assistance?

You may contact Instagram by following the guidelines from here. They will most likely ask you for account details, such as previous passwords, recovery information, and so on.

Is There a Way to Recover My Account After It Has Been Deleted?

So, while there’s no way to retrieve your account back once you’ve destroyed it completely, some people swear by a workaround that we’ll detail here in case you’re in that situation.

Basically, you need to declare your Instagram account as hacked.

  1. To begin, key in your username or email address and select the ‘Get assistance signing in’ option on Instagram.
  2. Select ‘Login issues’ from the drop-down menu.
  3. To continue, follow the instructions, such as selecting the sort of account you’d like to restore and selecting ‘My account was hacked.’
  4. After that, choose ‘hear more about your experience.

Fill out the forms and you’ll receive an email from Instagram within a few hours. You’ll ultimately be asked to show proof of your identity, such as photographs you’ve submitted to the account, your username, and so on.For this to operate, you’ll need an email address and/or a verification code.

Conclusion

You may finally give yourself some personal time back by deactivating and erasing your Instagram account for good, allowing you to escape and leave behind the ever-present drudgery of online culture.

If you need to walk away for a time, temporarily deactivating your account is a decent choice, but otherwise, delete to safeguard your account—and your sanity. Do you have any experience with deleting an Instagram account, or do you have any queries about it? Please leave your thoughts in the section below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few more solutions to your Instagram deletion questions.

1. After I remove my account, how long does Instagram hold my data?

Instagram says it might take up to 90 days to completely erase your account, so it’s possible that some information about your account is still retained on its systems.

Instagram’s Data Policy, on the other hand, indicates that the firm may preserve information about your account for up to 90 days. The company may keep information for legal reasons or in connection with a breach of the firm’s Terms of Service.

2. Is it possible to remove my child’s account?

Regrettably, no. At the very least, not without the users’ login credentials. Only the account owner may remove the account using the procedures above, according to Instagram’s guidelines.

Leave a Reply